Search Our
Catalog

Keyword:

Too Many Databases to Choose From?
Don't Know Where to Start?

Credo Logo

Research Databases by Subject

Attention: This page is currently under construction...please pardon any broken or misdirected links while the information is being updated.

The Long Beach Public Library subscribes to more than 60 databases
to give you easy online access to reliable, authoritative information.
For home access, you will need your library card (barcode) number.

To see these sources arranged alphabetically, click here.

Armed Forces Genealogy
Art & Music Health & Medicine
Automobiles History & Biographies
Business, Finance, & Industry Home & Garden
Careers & Employment Homework Help
Children & Teens Language Learning
Computers & Technology Law
Consumer Information Library & Information Science
Criminal Justice Literature
Culinary Arts Multidisciplinary
Culture Newspapers & Magazines
Current Events Psychology
Downloadables Religion & Philosophy
Education Science & Mathematics
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Social Sciences
Environmental Studies Test Prep
Espanol/Spanish


Armed Forces
Military and Intelligence Collection Over 500 titles and more than 7 million articles with links to related sources: reference books, magazine and newswire articles. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home
War & Terrorism Collection Almost 100 full-text periodicals give researchers and students of history, social science, and current events insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Art & Music
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Updated daily. click to access in library click to access from home
Fine Arts and Music Collection More than 100 full-text magazines and journals support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
click to access in library click to access from home
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Automobiles
AllData Includes automobile diagnostics, repair procedures, electrical diagrams, technical bulletins and recalls which may be printed out.
click to access in library
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Business, Finance, and Industry
ABI/INFORM Collection The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Includes simultaneous access to ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Coverage: 1971-current. click to access in library click to access from home
ABI/INFORM Dateline This database includes hard-to-find local and regional business publications, analysis, and information on local markets. It also allows users to research employment opportunities, compile data on benefits and compensation, learn about corporate strategies and other topics from a local and regional perspective. Coverage: 1971-current. click to access in library click to access from home
ABI/INFORM Global This database includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text, and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. Coverage: 1971-present. click to access in library click to access from home
ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry This database includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics. Users can study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals, and many others. Coverage: 1971-present. click to access in library click to access from home
Business Collection This database provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. click to access in library click to access from home
Business This ProQuest resource covers publications on the latest business and financial information for researchers of all levels. click to access in library click to access from home
Business Economics and Theory Collection Academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. More than 150 full-text journals. click to access in library click to access from home
Business Insights: Essentials Detailed company and industry profiles, company financial reports, and company comparisons. click to access in library click to access from home
Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. Coverage: 1986-current. click to access in library click to access from home
Communications and Mass Media Collection More than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more. click to access in library click to access from home
Entrepreneurship Database Covers a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats, from video to Excel files to text.
click to access in library click to access from home
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection Current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals. Covers both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, as well as specialized aspects of the industry -- including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
click to access in library click to access from home
Insurance & Liability Collection Over 20 journals covering this multimillion dollar industry, including such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. click to access in library click to access from home
Reference USA Directory information for US businesses and residences, doctors and dentists. Annual reports, 10-Ks and other SEC information. Canadian business and residential. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home
Small Business Collection Over 280 full-text periodicals for business students and entrepreneurs. Provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Careers & Employment
CareerCruising Explore a future career path or conduct research before you change careers by using Career Matchmaker and/or view multimedia interviews with people working in hundreds of careers. Career Cruising also includes detailed information about colleges and universities across the U.S. with links to financial aid resources. click to access in library click to access from home
Learning Express Library Updated version with a new interface and updated tests including the new NYS high school equivalency exam. A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses. Study and practice for academic, civil service, and licensing tests, including basic skills, college entrance, EMS, Firefighter, GED, Law Enforcement, TOEFL, U.S. Citizenship and more. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations and individualized analysis of results. Computer Module includes instruction for Access, Excel, PowerPoint, MS Office and Word. click to access in library click to access from home
Tutor.com (Adult Education and Career Center) Help with job search, resume creation, and financial literacy, both with live tutors and with an Adult Career Center. click to access in library click to access from home
Vocations, Careers & Technical Education Collection Over 300 largely full-text journals providing content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Children & Teens
Britannica Escolar A spanish language encyclopedia for elementary and middle school students. click to access in library click to access from home
CareerCruising Explore a future career path or conduct research before you change careers by using Career Matchmaker and/or view multimedia interviews with people working in hundreds of careers. Career Cruising also includes detailed information about colleges and universities across the U.S. with links to financial aid resources. click to access in library click to access from home
eLibrary Elementary Reference materials for elementary students. Includes newspapers, magazines, books, transcripts, maps, pictures, audio, and video. click to access in library click to access from home
Explora - for Kids Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. click to access in library click to access from home
Explora - for Teens Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. click to access in library click to access from home
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. click to access in library click to access from home
Kids InfoBits For grades K-5. Covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. click to access in library click to access from home
Learning Express Library Updated version with a new interface and updated tests including the new NYS high school equivalency exam. A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses. Study and practice for academic, civil service, and licensing tests, including basic skills, college entrance, EMS, Firefighter, GED, Law Enforcement, TOEFL, U.S. Citizenship and more. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations and individualized analysis of results. Computer Module includes instruction for Access, Excel, PowerPoint, MS Office and Word. click to access in library click to access from home
NoveList K-8 The resource young readers turn to when looking for the next book to read.
click to access in library click to access from home
Opposing Viewpoints in Context A source for information on social issues and current events. Pros and cons, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and links to websites. click to access in library click to access from home
Primary Search 1990 to present month. Full-text of more than 60 popular magazines for elementary school research with reading level indicators. click to access in library click to access from home
Scholastic GO Eight student appropriate databases in one. Includes The New Book of Knowledge, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia Americana, Amazing Animals of the World, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, The New Book of Popular Science, and La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre. click to access in library click to access from home
Science in Context Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Merges Gale's reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. click to access in library click to access from home
Sesame Street E-Books Use this database to gain access to more than one hundred E-books to read online with your child and make story time extra engaging with bright pages, audio narration, interactivity, animation, and more. click to access in library click to access from home
TumbleBook Library TumbleBook Library is an online collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books) which teaches kids the joy of reading in a format they will love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music, and narration to produce an electronic picture book that they can read or have read to them. Children can also play interactive games based on the animated books. click to access in library click to access from home
Tutor.com (Homework Help) Real-time chat with a tutor for student homework questions. click to access in library click to access from home
21st Century Explorer For students. A powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites, a dictionary and thesaurus, atlases, timelines. All information is provided on two reading levels. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Computers & Technology
Computer Database Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Learning Express Library Updated version with a new interface and updated tests including the new NYS high school equivalency exam. A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses. Study and practice for academic, civil service, and licensing tests, including basic skills, college entrance, EMS, Firefighter, GED, Law Enforcement, TOEFL, U.S. Citizenship and more. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations and individualized analysis of results. Computer Module includes instruction for Access, Excel, PowerPoint, MS Office and Word. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Consumer Information
Coming Soon to the Long Beach Public Library! click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Criminal Justice
Criminal Justice Collection 150 journals for those studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Culinary Arts
Culinary Arts Collection 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Culture
Black Newspapers Provides access to esteemed newspapers from across the U.S., searchable from 1989-present. click to access in library click to access from home
Gale Diversity Studies Collection 150 full-text journals exploring cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. click to access in library click to access from home
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Issues Collection Over 30 largely full-text journals cover such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Current Events
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
GreenFILE Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. click to access in library click to access from home
Opposing Viewpoints in Context A source for information on social issues and current events. Pros and cons, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and links to websites. click to access in library click to access from home
War & Terrorism Collection Almost 100 full-text periodicals give researchers and students of history, social science, and current events insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Downloadables (E-books, Audiobooks, & Magazines)
Nassau Digital Doorway Download free audio and e-books onto your computer or mobile device. Titles available in all genres and for all age groups. click to access in library click to access from home
Sesame Street E-Books Use this database to gain access to more than one hundred E-books to read online with your child and make story time extra engaging with bright pages, audio narration, interactivity, animation, and more. click to access in library click to access from home
TumbleBook Library TumbleBook Library is an online collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books) which teaches kids the joy of reading in a format they will love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music, and narration to produce an electronic picture book that they can read or have read to them. Children can also play interactive games based on the animated books. click to access in library click to access from home
Zinio Zinio allows patrons to view popular magazines purchased by the Library on their computers or portable devices free of charge and with no expiration dates. Each magazine is displayed in its entirety complete with original page layout, images, and advertisements.
click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Education
ERIC ERIC provides extensive access to education-related literature including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Coverage: 1966 – current. click to access in library click to access from home
Explora - for Educators Designed for teachers, this database provides access to articles, essays, and resources aimed at aiding you in the classroom (includes lesson plans, curriculum standards, and useful websites). click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Learning Express Library Updated version with a new interface and updated tests including the new NYS high school equivalency exam. A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses. Study and practice for academic, civil service, and licensing tests, including basic skills, college entrance, EMS, Firefighter, GED, Law Enforcement, TOEFL, U.S. Citizenship and more. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations and individualized analysis of results. Computer Module includes instruction for Access, Excel, PowerPoint, MS Office and Word. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Annals of American History Online Illuminates U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents-the original words of history-makers. History, society, and everyday life come into focus through a variety of articles and media.
click to access in library click to access from home
Britannica Escolar A spanish language encyclopedia for elementary and middle school students. click to access in library click to access from home
Encyclopedia Britannica Search the encyclopedia as well as magazines, web sites, and videos. You can also explore learning materials, a dictionary and thesaurus, atlases, timelines. click to access in library click to access from home
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. click to access in library click to access from home
21st Century Explorer For students. A powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites, a dictionary and thesaurus, atlases, timelines. All information is provided on two reading levels. click to access in library click to access from home
Webster's Dictionary Merriam-Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Environmental Studies
Agriculture Collection Broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, comprised of nearly 200 titles--from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
click to access in library click to access from home
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection Nearly 200 journals in the field of environmental issues and policy, including perspectives from the scientific community and governmental policy makers as well as corporate interests.
click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
GreenFILE Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. click to access in library click to access from home

 

Español/Spanish
Britannica Escolar A spanish language encyclopedia for elementary and middle school students. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Genealogy
Ancestry Library Edition Contains 5 billion genealogy records with new records added daily. Records include the entire United States Federal Census from 1790 - 1940. In-Library access only. click to access in library  
HeritageQuest A unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes images of original U.S. Census records. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Health & Medicine
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. click to access in library click to access from home
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Issues Collection Over 30 largely full-text journals cover such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Health and Wellness Resource Center 1980 to present month. Includes government databases, magazines, journals, newspapers and directories regarding all health topics. click to access in library click to access from home
Health Reference Center Academic Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students. click to access in library click to access from home
Medicine Gain access to Gale's medical encyclopedias. click to access in library click to access from home
Nursing and Allied Health Collection Nearly 400 titles covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. click to access in library click to access from home
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection Over 60 predominantly full-text titles in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

History & Biography
Annals of American History Online Illuminates U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents-the original words of history-makers. History, society, and everyday life come into focus through a variety of articles and media.
click to access in library click to access from home
Biography in Context Contextual information on the world's most influential people. Merges Gale's reference works with periodicals and multimedia. Search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
click to access in library click to access from home
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. click to access in library click to access from home
Gender Studies Collection This database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics such as gender studies and family and marital issues.
click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Popular Culture Collection Useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home
US History Collection Well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher. click to access in library click to access from home
U.S. History in Context Search full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files for contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. click to access in library click to access from home
War & Terrorism Collection Almost 100 full-text periodicals give researchers and students of history, social science, and current events insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale. click to access in library click to access from home
World History Collection Nearly 40 predominantly full-text journals provide balanced coverage of events in World History. Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.
click to access in library click to access from home
World History in Context Search full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files for information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in World History.
click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Home & Garden
Agriculture Collection Broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, comprised of nearly 200 titles--from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
click to access in library click to access from home
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. Includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
click to access in library click to access from home
Home Improvement Collection Nearly 100 home improvement focused titles for hobbyists and professionals. Includes architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and much more. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Homework Help
Tutor.com (Homework Help) Real-time chat with a tutor for student homework questions. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Language Learning
Pronunciator Language Learning Learn 80 languages in any of 50 languages, for a total of 4,000 available course combinations. Plus, ESL for 50 non-English languages. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Law
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Library and Information Science
eSequels The online guide to series fiction.
click to access in library click to access from home
Information Science & Library Issues Collection Nearly 100 leading industry journals covering topics such as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more. click to access in library click to access from home
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Literature
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Updated daily. click to access in library click to access from home
eSequels The online guide to series fiction.
click to access in library click to access from home
Gale Literary Sources Whether you are researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
click to access in library click to access from home
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Literature Resource Center Biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis of novelists, poets, essayists and journalists from every age and literary discipline. click to access in library click to access from home
Litfinder Author profiles, citations, explanations, analysis of 85,000 full-text poems, plays, speeches, essays, and short stories. click to access in library click to access from home
NoveList A readers' advisory tool that assists readers in finding new authors and titles based on past reading preferences. NoveList is linked to the Library's catalog displaying the Library's holdings. click to access in library click to access from home
NoveList K-8 The resource young readers turn to when looking for the next book to read.
click to access in library click to access from home
Scribner Writers Online This collection includes all volumes in the Scribner Writers series, including the American Writers, British Writers, European Writers, and the World and Genre Writers series.
click to access in library click to access from home
Twayne's Authors Series Contains the full-text of 200 Twayne Literary Masters books on world, U. S. and English authors. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Multidisciplinary
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Updated daily. click to access in library click to access from home
Credo Reference Credo Reference has 3.2 million entries from more than 450 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, and atlases in all fields. Sources are selected from major publishers, such as ABC Clio, Bloomsbury, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier, Greenwood, Penguin, Routledge, Sage, Thames and Hudson, Wiley, and more. You may use precise searching or a more general concept map. click to access in library click to access from home
Expanded Academic ASAP Meets research needs across all academic disciplines, from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers -- many with full text and images. click to access in library click to access from home
Explora - for Public Libraries This database provides access to articles, essays, and videos pertaining to a wide range of topics including art and literature, biography, business and careers, current events, geography and culture, health, history, math, and science. click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Literati "Literati is an online platform that combines reliable, citable reference content with your library's resources and helps you to do faster, more effective research." click to access in library click to access from home
Proquest Gain access to all ProQuest databases simutaneously. ProQuest offers access to thousands of newspapers (including national and international), periodicals, and academic journals covering the arts, humanities, science, technology, and much more. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Newspapers & Magazines
Black Newspapers Provides access to esteemed newspapers from across the U.S., searchable from 1989-present.
click to access in library click to access from home
Custom Newspapers 150 national and international newspapers. click to access in library click to access from home
Gannett Newsstand A dozen newspapers from around the country, including the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Baltimore Sun, and Newsday. click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Global Newsstream Global Newsstream enables uers to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives that stretch back inot the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
click to access in library click to access from home
Infotrac Newsstand A full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. More than 1,000 newspapers. click to access in library click to access from home
New York State Newspapers A database of 10 major newspapers published in the state of New York including the NY Times, NY Daily News & NY Post. click to access in library click to access from home
New York Times 1980-present in full-text. Use Publication or Advanced Search to specify this paper. click to access in library click to access from home
New York Times Historical Includes the full text of the New York Times from 1851 (in PDF), with an embargo on the current three years. click to access in library click to access from home
News Nine Proquest news databases in one: Black Newspapers, Financial Times, New York Times, New York Times Historical, Newsday, Newsday Historical, Wall Street Journal Historical, and Gannett Newstand click to access in library click to access from home
Newsday 1985-present in full-text. click to access in library click to access from home
Newsday Historical Full text covering the publication years 1940-1988. click to access in library click to access from home
Popular Magazines 1000 of the most-searched magazines across Gale's InfoTrac products, including Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, NPR and even Oprah. click to access in library click to access from home
Proquest Newsstand (aka Gannett Newsstand) A dozen newspapers from around the country, including the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Baltimore Sun, and Newsday. click to access in library click to access from home
Wall Street Journal Gain access to top news stories and the information contained in the various sections of the paper. Coverage: 1984-present. click to access in library click to access from home
Wall Street Journal Historical This historical newspaper provides coverage of politics, society and events happening between 1889 and 1999. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Psychology
Psychology Collection 200 full-text periodicals exploring what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. Gives a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops--and diminishes--over time. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Religion and Philosophy
Religion & Philosophy Collection 250 periodicals, many full-text, can be used to research different religions and philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Science & Mathematics
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Updated daily. click to access in library click to access from home
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
General Science Collection Nearly 300 predominantly full-text academic journals and general science-focused magazines covering all scientific endeavor, including particle physics, quantum theory, advanced mathematics, and biotechnology. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home
Science in Context Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Merges Gale's reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. click to access in library click to access from home
Selected links on this topic

click to return to top of page top

Social Sciences
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. click to access in library click to access from home
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Issues Collection Over 30 largely full-text journals cover such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. click to access in library click to access from home
Gender Studies Collection This database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics such as gender studies and family and marital issues.
click to access in library click to access from home
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. 1980-present, many with fulltext. click to access in library click to access from home
Opposing Viewpoints in Context A source for information on social issues and current events. Pros and cons, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and links to websites. click to access in library click to access from home
Research Library One-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,050 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. click to access in library click to access from home
War & Terrorism Collection Almost 100 full-text periodicals give researchers and students of history, social science, and current events insight into conflicts: their causes, their impact, and how they are perceived on a global scale. click to access in library click to access from home
World Data Analyst Combines detailed statistics with powerful tools for analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create interesting and informative comparative charts and tables. click to access in library click to access from home

click to return to top of page top

Test Prep
Learning Express Library Updated version with a new interface and updated tests including the new NYS high school equivalency exam. A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses. Study and practice for academic, civil service, and licensing tests, including basic skills, college entrance, EMS, Firefighter, GED, Law Enforcement, TOEFL, U.S. Citizenship and more. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations and individualized analysis of results. Computer Module includes instruction for Access, Excel, PowerPoint, MS Office and Word. click to access in library click to access from home
Tutor.com (Adult Education and Career Center) Help with job search, resume creation, and financial literacy, both with live tutors and with an Adult Career Center. click to access in library click to access from home

created and maintained by M. A. Buss